Congratulations to many members of the Department who were recognized at the Pillars’ Awards ceremony earlier this month. The Pillars’ Recognition of Service and Inclusive Excellence Awards acknowledged the work of faculty and trainees who work to further diversity and a “climate of inclusion” at UMMC and within the surrounding community.

Excellence Award Honorable Mention (given to a trainee):

Dr. Catherine Lowe, Cardiology fellow

Lowe, Catherine
Dr. Catherine Lowe

Beacon Award Honorable Mention (given to a faculty member):

Dr. Myrna Alexander Nickens, Associate Professor, Cardiology

Alexander Nickens, Myrna 20191028 01 High Res
Dr. Myrna Alexander Nickens

Espirit De Corps Award (given to a team or department):

The Jackson Heart Study led Dr. Adolfo Correa, Director and Principal Investigator

Dr. Adolfo Correa

Espirit De Corps Award Honorable Mention:

Population Health Science led by Dr. Leandro Mena, Professor and Chair of Population Health Science

Dr. Leandro Mena

Dr. Deborah Konkle-Parker (Professor, Infectious Diseases) was recognized as a member of the inaugural 2020 Masters Class of Learners from the Diversity and Inclusion Champion and Professional Development Certificate Program.

Konkle-Parker, Debbie High Res
Dr. Deborah Konkle-Paker

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s