Dr. M. Iftekhar Ullah is an Associate Professor in the Division of General Medicine who practices inpatient, outpatient, and sleep medicine. Here, Dr. Ullah shares his path to UMMC and what has kept him here for 15 years.

The Trailblazer Teaching Awards recognize educators who have demonstrated a record of innovating, engaging, and inspiring others through their service to students in the School of Medicine.  Dr. John Caleb Grenn and Dr. Jarrett Morgan are recipients of this important award this year for the Department of Medicine.

Michael Watson, an employee in the Division of General Medicine, celebrates 25 years of service to UMMC! Watson, a die-hard 49ers fan and father of five, first came to work at UMMC in 1997.

The induction ceremony for the inaugural Academy for Excellence in Education was held August 23, 2022. Nine faculty from the Department of Medicine were inducted into the inaugural class.

Congratulations to the 2022 Department of Medicine Award Winners!
Master Clinician: Dr. Myrna Alexander
Mentoring Award: Dr. Michelle Horn
Educator of the Year: Dr. Kimberly Harkins
Outstanding Service: Dr. Savannah Duckworth
Outstanding Service (Staff Member):
Monica Watkins

Congratulations to Dr. Jimmy Stewart on celebrating 25 years at UMMC! Dr. Stewart is a Professor in the divisions of General Internal Medicine and Pediatrics and is currently serving as the Associate Dean of Graduate Medical Education.

Dr. Fred Asher, Division Director of Hospital Medicine, and Dr. Elizabeth Fryoux, Assistant Professor in the Division of General Medicine, were elected to the Medical Executive Committee.

Dr. Savannah Duckworth, Assistant Professor in General Medicine, has graduated from the Society of General Internal Medicine’s prestigious TEACH (Teaching Educators Across the Continuum of Healthcare) program.

1 2 3 6