Trained in both critical care and infectious diseases, Dr. Luis Shimose can be seen rounding on the ID consult team, seeing patients in the clinic, or staffing the medical ICU. Here, Dr. Shimose shares about his path to Mississippi and what he loves most about UMMC.

The induction ceremony for the inaugural Academy for Excellence in Education was held August 23, 2022. Nine faculty from the Department of Medicine were inducted into the inaugural class.

Dr. Zerelda Esquer Garrigos, assistant professor in the Division of Infectious Diseases, co-authored a Scientific Statement from the American Heart Association published August 31, 2022 in Circulation regarding Management of Infective Endocarditis (IE) in people who inject drugs.

Dr. Thomas Dobbs, former state health officer for the Mississippi State Department of Health, has been named Dean of the John D. Bower School of Population Health. Dr. Dobbs, an infectious disease physician, will also be joining the Department of Medicine in the Division of Infectious Diseases.

Congratulations to Dr. Jason Parham on celebrating 20 years at UMMC! Dr. Parham is Division Director of Infectious Diseases, Executive Vice Chair for the Department of Medicine, and leads UMMC’s Antimicrobial Stewardship Program, which was awarded Center of Excellence Status by the Infectious Diseases Society of America.

Congratulations to the 2021 Department of Medicine Award Winners!
Mentoring Award: Dr. Marion Wofford
Master Clinician: Dr. Douglas Wolfe
Outstanding Service: Dr. Brett Jeter
Outstanding Service (Staff Member):
Sandy Sartin
Educator of the Year: Dr. Prakhar Vijayvargiya

Congratulations to all those who received promotion or tenure for the 2021-2022 academic year. These achievements reflect continued excellence and professional competence. This exciting milestone reflects a commendable level of academic growth and the remarkable value of our faculty members.

1 2 3