Trailblazer Teaching Awards

Congratulations to all six faculty that were selected to receive Trailblazer Teaching Awards from the Office of Medical Education. This award recognizes those that are viewed as effective educators of future physicians.

Nelson C. Order of Teaching Excellence

Dr. Savannah Duckworth (left), has been selected as a member of the 2020-2021 Norman C. Nelson Order of Teaching Excellence. Established in 2004 to recognize “the teaching excellence encouraged and nurtured by Norman C. Nelson, M.D.”, the Order identifies those faculty who have provided the finest attention to student education on this campus.

Alpha Omega Alpha Faculty Teacher of the Year

Dr. Zeb Henson (right), was awarded the Alpha Omega Alpha (AOA) Faculty Teacher of the Year. This award is voted on by medical students and given to one faculty member per year.

Alpha Omega Alpha Distinguished Professor

Dr. Richard Wardrop, III was chosen as an Alpha Omega Alpha (AOA) Distinguished Professor for 2019-2020.

Humanism and Excellence in Teaching Awards

Congratulations to Drs. Buchanan and Grenn for being selected as two of the six residents at UMMC who have been chosen by the third year medical students as a recipient of the Humanism and Excellence in Teaching Award. This award, sponsored by the Arnold P. Gold Foundation, honors residents who have demonstrated an enthusiastic commitment to teaching and who serve as role models for the compassionate treatment of patients and families, students, and colleagues. This was Dr. Grenn’s third consecutive year to be selected for this award.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s