Dr. Lillian Lien was awarded the Laureate Award for the Mississippi Chapter of American College of Physicians at the MS/AL ACP meeting in Meridian, MS. The Laureate Award honors Fellows and Masters of the College who have demonstrated excellence by their example and display a commitment to outstanding medical care, education, or research and in service to their community, Chapter and the ACP.

Dr. Lien is a Professor of Medicine and the Endocrinology Division Director. She obtained her undergraduate degree from Harvard University. She came to UMMC in 2014 after being on faculty at Duke University, where she also attended medical school, residency, and fellowship. On the topics of obesity and diabetes, she is the author or coauthor of over 60 publications, while serving as a journal reviewer, editor, and an active member of several national organizations, including the ACP.

Previous Laureate Award recipients from the Mississippi chapter include Dr. John Bower, professor emeritus of medicine and a nephrologist; the late Dr. Patrick Lehan, professor of medicine and director of the Division of Cardiology and Cardiovascular Diseases; Dr. Kenneth Bennett, professor emeritus of cardiology; Dr. Helen Turner, associate vice chancellor emeritus; Dr. Joe Files, professor emeritus of medicine; the late Dr. Gilliam “Swink” Hicks Jr., professor of medicine; Dr. Richard deShazo, professor emeritus of medicine; Dr. Shirley Schlessinger, professor emeritus of medicine; Dr. Dan Woodliff, professor emeritus of medicine; and Dr. Kimberly Harkins, associate professor of medicine.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s